I dont live that way.

When I was about twelve, my grandparents had me pick out a silverware pattern. Over the years they gave me pieces of the pattern and I now have service for eight.  I don’t use the silverware any more, because I am uncomfortable using something that is so valuable.

There was a time when people held fancy dinner parties with beautiful place settings. But they had servants to help clean up afterwards. Clothes were ironed and skirt lengths changed every year.  I rarely wear skirts and don’t know what is fashionable. I am happier bringing home a paycheck than going to a party. I don’t have the energy or the interest to live the life style my grandparents thought I would live.

Now my mother is trying to downsize.  She sent me her fancy china.  I am not certain if it is safe to put it in the dishwasher and if I used it, I would worry about breaking it.

I don’t entertain often, but when I do, I use Correlle in plain white. I use a simple pattern of inexpensive “silverware” and Ikea glasses. I am more likely to use paper plates than fancy plates. Entertaining is not about good china, but good company. I know there was a time when that mattered, but I don’t live that way.

Leave a Reply

