Classification by religion

It is probable that the Supreme Court will soon have no Protestants. It will also have no Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, or atheists. The lack of Protestants bothers some people. These same people tend not to be bothered by the lack of the other groups.

I do not like the fact that we are identified by our religions. I neither know nor care what religion my students and colleagues are. I was taught to believe that we should judge people as individuals, not as members of a religion, race, or national origin. The easiest way to do that is not to know those facts.

We can’t always avoid the knowledge of race. Two of my grandchildren are half Asian, but they were once mistaken for being Hispanic. This gives me a perfect excuse to post a picture of my granddaughter. As far as I am concerned she may be half one race and half another, but she is 100% cute.

Half Asian and Half White

Tags:

Leave a Reply

