How to succeed in a math course

A number of years ago, I taught a relatively small, business calculus class where 60% of the students got A’s. This surprised me, because normally, I would be happy if five students got A’s in a class that size.

A couple of years afterwards, I met one of the students. He said, “I don’t know if you are aware of what was going on in the class.” With a little trepidation, I invited him to tell me. He said, “Fifteen of us found a room and did the homework together. We would not leave until every student understood every problem.”

With that information, I am no longer surprised at the number of A’s, but if anyone forced students to do that, it would be considered unreasonable.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

