What does a great teacher do that I don’t?

There are two answers to this question.

1. Inspire the students to work.

The movie Stand and Deliver told the true story of Jaime Escalante, who successfully taught calculus to poor Hispanic high school students. Many people think of the movie as a story of great teaching, but what impressed me the most was how much work he managed to get the students to do. The students came in before school, after school, and on Saturdays. With that kind of dedication, most math teachers could get those students to learn. I don’t know how he did it, but that alone made Jaime Escalante a great teacher.

I’m sure there was more to it, which brings us to

2. I don’t know. There must be more than just the first answer, but if I knew I would try to do it. (I know that’s not fair, but it’s true.)

Tags: ,

One Response to “What does a great teacher do that I don’t?”

  1. leaderinlearning Says:

    2. STAY POSITIVE is the second I think. I have the patience of a saint when teaching most students, but I have my limits. A great teacher will never give up and turn the negative into positive. A great teacher will never say “you should know that by now”, but “good try, but…..”.

Leave a Reply

