Why do I bother grading the final exam?

I graded the final exam of student X today, and I’m not sure why I bothered. Her highest test  score in the course was  41%. It was mathematically impossible for her to pass. My quizzes are all 5 points and I give one point for the name. Nevertheless, her quiz average was under 4%. This showed me she was rarely on time for class.

It was mathematically impossible for student X to pass the course. 100% on the final exam would still give her an F. But duty calls, and I kept her final in the stack with the others and graded it a page at a time. Some pages were essentially blank, but I dutifully wrote zeros by every problem. I suppose if she ever wants to contest her grade, it will be nice to have her final exam, but that seems unlikely.

Oh, her final grade was 22%. Why did I waste my time?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

