Individual help.

One of my students slept through my lecture. After the lecture, the students did problems on what I taught. Of course, the sleepy student couldn’t do them, and wanted help. I asked him if he was sick or just tired. He told me he was sick.

I don’t like the idea of leaning over the desk of a sick student and helping him, although I did so briefly. Then I told him to go home to recover.  I don’t want to risk catching what he has. I didn’t have the excuse that my other students needed my help, because they didn’t.

I’m sure I came off as a very unsympathetic teacher. If he told me he was sick because he didn’t want to admit he stayed up late to party, I’m still not sorry I didn’t help him more.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

