What I enjoy about teaching

I complain a lot about teaching in this blog, but my students sometimes please me. I appreciate the students who work hard to learn. There were several students this semester who made their C’s even though they were clearly struggling to learn. They did their homework, asked questions, and got through the course.

I enjoy the student who got an A, with 100% on the final exam, even though she missed several classes due to illness. She was the one who told me she actually used something she learned in this course on her job.

Of course the bright student who got an A without a great deal of effort is always a joy to have, but those are relatively rare.

I love seeing students who are generally interested in math, but I also enjoy the students who weren’t really into math, but put aside their prejudices and found the course interesting.

And I enjoy seeing my former students.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

